Spotlight On Katina French #Imaginarium

Standard

Katina French Cosplay Photo

SPOTLIGHT ON: Katina French

 

How did you get involved in the upcoming Imaginarium convention?

I’ve gotten connected with the indie and small press publishing community in the Louisville area over the past few years. I’d had a good experience at a couple of cons, but was disappointed when some seemed to shuffle their literary track off to the side. Several writer friends are Seventh Star Press authors, so when Stephen Zimmer suggested a conference to put creative writing front and center, I thought it was a great idea.

 

What is your latest release and what genre is it?

Mirrors and Magic: A Steampunk Fairytale. I suppose the subtitle is sort of a spoiler for the genre, but it’s steampunk, or gaslamp fantasy if you prefer. There are elements of anachronistic steam and clockwork technology, but there’s also a functional magic system in the form of alchemy. Some purists don’t consider anything with magic true steampunk.

 Mirrors_and_Magic_eBook_150px

Quick description of it.

It’s a retelling of Snow White, set in a traveling circus at the turn of the century in an alternate North America where the states never united after the Revolutionary War, the Emancipation Proclamation was signed the same day as the Declaration of Independence thanks to automatons making slavery obsolete, and where circus magicians can pull off real magic as part of the show. The main character, Neve, is the daughter of the former star performer. After his death, she carries on in his memory as the new star, a diva acrobat, runs the show into the ground. She’s encouraged by the charming knife thrower to bring back her father’s magic act and save the circus. All the characters you know from Snow White appear, but in a different and sometimes unexpected form.

 

Something unique about it.

There’s a homicidal monkey named Roderigo who attempts to kill our heroine and sabotage the circus throughout the story.

 

Links for people to buy it.

http://www.amazon.com/Mirrors-Magic-Steampunk-Clockwork-Republic/dp/B00KX8R66U/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mirrors-and-magic-katina-french/1116336154?ean=9781940938257

http://www.audible.com/pd/Sci-Fi-Fantasy/Mirrors-and-Magic-Audiobook/B00KWGM0P0/

https://itunes.apple.com/ca/audiobook/mirrors-magic-steampunk-fairy/id888381259

 

Your promo links.

www.katinafrench.com

www.amazon.com/author/katinafrench

www.twitter.com/katfrench

www.facebook.com/thatdarnkat

www.goodreads.com/thatdarnkat

 

Your short Bio.

Katina French is a speculative fiction author from southern Indiana. An award-winning copywriter, she’s been writing professionally for over 20 years. Recent works of fiction include THE CLOCKWORK REPUBLICS series, as well as THE BELLE STARR CHRONICLES, a space adventure serial in the vein of Joss Whedon’s Firefly and Chris Wooding’s Tales of the Ketty Jay.

 imaginarium-design-final

 

“Imaginarium is an entire convention centered on creative writing taking place September 19-21 in Louisville KY, featuring over 140 panels and workshops organized into 12 categories.  Over 130 professional guests will be featured in the programming, covering all aspects of creative writing in the worlds of books, eBooks, screenplays, comics/graphic novels, and even game design.  All of it is set within a fun, convention atmosphere that includes activities like a Masquerade, gaming room, film festival, and more.  Please visit www.entertheimaginarium.com for further information.”

Advertisements

One response »

What's Your Take?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s